RSS Feed

Does this Rosemary Bread Make My Butt Look Fat?

One of my family’s favorite things for me to “whip up” is rosemary bread, which we then eat with olive oil and balsamic vinegar. And I’ve made it five times in the past two and a half weeks. Yeah.

I’m thinking it’s not such a great plan when I’m trying to lose weight. Towards that end, I did try something new this morning, Overnight Oats, the healthy-internet-site sensation. http://www.katheats.com/favorite-foods/overnightoats and http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/recipes/345

I made mine with 1/3 c Coach’s Oats, 1/3 c Greek yogurt, 1/3 c skim milk, lemon zest, vanilla & blueberries. I added strawberries in the morning before I ate it. The verdict is cold it was blech not to my liking. After I heated it up in the micro, it was tasty.

I’ve been poking around healthy eating sites and trying to incorporate new, tasty stuff. So I was inspired to head to Whole Foods despite the fact I feel like a puffy, dim-witted rhinoceros a little like an outsider there. I’m like a person newly arrived in a foreign country where I don’t speak the language. This general feeling of discomfort was not improved upon by the fact my pants were unbuttoned because I’ve put on too much weight and refuse to buy more clothes. I picked up some produce (I recognized a lot of that). I felt very at home, for some reason, in the wine department. I took a fabulous picture there and for some reason it didn’t save on my camera. Cosmic message? Some novel things (to me) that I picked up: Chia seeds, maple pumpkin butter, whole wheat pastry flour, unsweetened almond milk. For snack this afternoon I put 1 tb. of pumpkin butter in 1/2 cup Greek yogurt with some cinnamon. Wow.

Rosemary bread aside — and I mean way aside. I just put the breadmaker in the garage — today I started tracking all my food.  And my friend Dina sent me some wisdom she read in O Magazine:

“Weight is the result of how we deal with stress, navigate change, and make time to take care of ourselves. Weight loss is not about what you put on your plate. It’s about how you live your life.”

5 responses »

  1. Sally Thompson

    Love this post… and love the Oprah quote. I made the decision to have a healthy, homemade meal tonight for dinner instead of driving to The Hat. It’s the small steps, right? 😉

    Reply
  2. I’m always inspired by Whole Foods and the people there — even though, I too, feel a bit out of place. And very poor when I leave!
    I started tracking my food today, too! So far so good on day 1!

    Reply
  3. I felt the same way when I first started to shop at Whole Foods! I mean the same way!

    Not to hinder your desire to break with excuses and old habits but I would love your rosemary bread recipe! 😉

    Check out this site for wonderful healthy recipes. http://www.101cookbooks.com/ I cook many recipes from her site and I have Heidi’s Super Natural cookbook if you want to borrow it.
    Also a great vegan website that has many awesome baked good recipes
    http://dreaminitvegan.blogspot.com/

    Another favorite food blog I follow http://cannelle-vanille.blogspot.com/

    Bon Appetite and cheers to healthy food!

    Reply
    • Dorissa, here you go:
      * 1 cup water
      * 3 tablespoons olive oil
      * 1 1/2 teaspoons white sugar
      * 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
      * 1/4 teaspoon Italian seasoning
      * 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
      * 1 tablespoon dried rosemary
      * 2 1/2 cups bread flour
      * 1 1/2 teaspoons active dry yeast
      I make it in the bread machine at the 1.5 lb. setting. It’s so, so good, and the whole family loves it.
      Thanks for the links!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

